Punching her in the face would have been preferable.

So thought Sharon last night when ‘comedian’ Frankie Boyle did a Ds routine in the middle of his act. Didn’t help that Sharon has a five year old girl with Ds. Helped less that she was in the front row. I’m sure she’d love to hear from you. The full, ground-please-swallow-me story is here.

Meanwhile here’s a picture of funny man Frankie Boyle.

So is my other end

Update

India Knight has her say about everyone’s newest favourite Frankie in the Times Online.

Jayne Burnett writing at Enable Scotland knows a hell of a lot more about it than I do.

The inevitable Facebook Let’s Boycott Frankie Boyle page. I joined. Inevitably.

Thanks Bernie and Lisa for the links.

12 comments on “Punching her in the face would have been preferable.

  1. Elbog says:

    Thank you for the opportunity to thank her. I used to pride myself on being open-minded about comedy, but I’m not, anymore. There’s a whole list of professionals who are not welcome in my home. There’s an app for that – my remote. There are few comedians that I will commit time and $$ to see live, because I’m not really interested in gaining a public forum for my views without the proper billing.
    ;^)>

    • Nick McGivney says:

      I’m in lockstep with you there, Mister. I am certainly not against offensiveness, but where it lands is the issue. A gifted few have managed to be incisive, intelligent, rebellious, offensive, thought-provoking and then, the cream on top, funny. But it’s a criminally small few. They also seem to die young. Maybe that’s the price of genuine talent in this area. Discussion topic for next semester!

    • Nick McGivney says:

      Still in lockstep.

  2. Nan P says:

    Ouch!

    In your 2 comments on Sharon’s post you just nailed it. It’s not making fun of someone else’s misfortune that is the issue, it’s the fact that somepeople cannot defend themselves or respond. In short, this type of humour is an extreme form of bullying.

    I must say I was always uneasy about certain types of humour (and god knows I love to laugh), but I have grown Very Uncomfortable with some (so called) comics in the last 2 years…

    • Nick McGivney says:

      It seems to have a large grey area for some people, Nan, this area of what’s ok to mock. It seems too that humanity is sliding backwards more and more of late. 😦

  3. Elbog says:

    Sorry to pop in, again, but it seems that my comments on Sharon’s blog got lost in the ether. Sadly(or perhaps not), reading what’s been posted there since my last visit merely emphasize what’s wrong with this whole picture. There were those who told us, not very long after Emma was born, to “get over it.” This is not possible; it is the ultimate manifestation of one’s self-denial of their own vulnerabilities and inevitable death. How’s that for a generalization?
    There are those that tell us that we’re hypocrites for laughing at some things and not others. This is the moral equivalent of telling the rape victim that “she was asking for it.” Michael Jackson’s “Thriller” video is pretty cool, but not so much a couple of weeks after a funeral.
    I don’t know Sharon. From what I’ve read, I could say that she was somewhat naive for attending that show. I’m not sure where she is on this ‘journey’; I’m slowly developing a thicker skin. It’s a combination of inertia, fatigue, perhaps a bit of wisdom, and resignation. Part of that is insulation, which is (of course)isolating. I’m not necessarily recommending this – it’s just my way. As Sharon has inadvertently demonstrated, to be ‘out there’ is risky, indeed.
    Can we take ourselves too seriously? Of course we can. Can we find humor in our situation? You bet. Can we make fun of those (probably not this audience)that will never ‘get it’? Absolutely. ‘We’ don’t do that, so much, because our memories of being just like them are still fresh.
    It’s a good debate, albeit with the hyperbole that defines Internet conversation. I hope that Sharon’s outcomes are positive for those willing to see what’s real amidst the chaff of those who merely posture.
    Whew. Thanks.

  4. Beth says:

    Thanks for giving me the chance to read about Sharon’s experience. Yikes!
    Perhaps a picture of what the horse left behind would be more appropriate for Frankie Boyle.

  5. hammie says:

    And the worst part? he isn’t even funny. Everybody deserves good comedy! xx

  6. Jill says:

    Well I never thought FB was that funny anyway, but now I find he is a (insert preferred expletive) too.

    I think what is so sad are some of the awful comments on her blog. Sharon only said her piece to FB because he singled her out – she just responded because he put her on the spot.

    Why shouldn’t Sharon feel upset? Why shouldn’t she publish a blog about it from her viewpoint (who else’s could she publish from???)

    I think well done her for speaking when he put her on the spot. If no-one ever stands up for what they think is right then the world is a sad place. Sharon stook up for what she thought was right. Good for her.

Leave a Reply

