Yes we can!

1

Ok, so you’ve got a black man…

4

…and he’s moving into a white house

2

…thanks to a lot of blue voters?

3

Schweet.

My name is Jacobama and I endorse this message.

Note from Jacob’s campaign advisor

And well done to all you red voters out there who made your votes count too. Didn’t mean to exclude you all, and glad to see everyone making this whole voting lark work so well.

15 comments on “Yes we can!

  1. Elbog says:

    Well, as a declared Jacobite, I’d just say that there were quite a few red voters, too, if youse gets my drift.
    And yes, a lot of us are glad that it was about way more than just colors, despite what you might have heard.
    I was watching the end of ‘Rattle and Hum’, last night, where Bono rails at Irish Americans talking to him about the ‘revolution’ in Ireland. I’m glad that that’s dated, too.
    I do so really hope we can. I know we can do better.
    Cheers! Thank God it’s Friday!

  2. Christine says:

    So glad Jacob approves of our choice.

    And yes, I do believe “we can”. If this last year or so as taught me anything it has taught me that we are capable of much more than we often think we are.

  3. Sister Wolf says:

    Wow, that kid is so politically aware, great job, Nick.

  4. NAN P. says:

    Don’t mind the colours, Jacob(ama) can too. Be such a cutie among other things!

    In anycase, interesting week indeed.

  5. Lovely photo series there.

  6. enc says:

    LOL!

    Our state isn’t blue enough, but we got the black man in.

  7. hammie says:

    OH yeah! And that little red haired cracker jack has rhythm too. You can hear the syncapation in the photographs.
    And btw, I think Jacob is close to over taking you on the hair front, watch out!
    (Boo has a shadow on his upper lip, feck turning 40, this will put me over the edge FACIAL HAIR ON MY BABY!!!)

    xx

  8. downsdad says:

    Hey Elbog, air fills the place where my pension was, but hope fills the air, and I’ll take that right now. I made myself stop after three colours, but Jacob’s red hair was a tribute to all thinking GOPpers, and I know there are plenty.

    Christine – if everyone is as measured and as thoughtful about it as you’ve been throughout the entire electoral process, especially those in positions of influence, then everyone sleeps easier. And thank you for your recent comments. Much appreciated.

    SW – Jacob just tells it the way he sees it.

    Nan P – yes, it has been an interesting time, as the Chinese curse has it. But man are we richer for it. A little jaded too, world-weary, which I could do without, but a lot more experienced.

    Thanks XBox. Glad you’re stopping by. I’m always checking up on you too, even if I don’t always speak, and I’m glad you didn’t blow up on me while you were visiting. I realise it was a possibility there for a while. 🙂

    enc – When you put blue and red together you get blurred. Kinda. Either way, I have a lot of faith in common sense, so shine a light there missus!

    Oh Hammie – so kind of you to drop by and insult my gleaming man-dome! I always appreciate your practical wisdom, you know that, right? So as long as it’s Boo with the lip hair things will be as they should be (Sounds like a line outta the Sunscreen song, doesn’t it.) Don’t worry, he’ll still be your baby. Whether you like it or not now, you’re an Irish Mammy, and that brings perpetual babies. Hadn’t you noticed??

  9. hammie says:

    An irish Mammy? Now I am feeling blessed.
    xx

  10. Holding my breath to see how it all plays out. Lots of promises were made. I’m hoping at least for a reasonable form of univ. health care, and getting the troops home.

    VERY cute pics!!!! 🙂

  11. Jo says:

    Hi HGF! *Waves*

    Is it me or does Jacob resemble his Daddy in that last picture? It must be the cheeky expression.

  12. Cal says:

    Oh my gosh, I love this post! Hahaha…great perspective from Mr. Jacob 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my blog…hope you visit often!

  13. Best Election post i’ve seen so far! 🙂

  14. Nick McGivney says:

    HGF: Echo all that. But hope does permeate…

    Jo: If his dad can resemble Jacob then we may be on to something 🙂

    Cal: Lovely to have you in for tea. Do stop by again.

    Orpees: We’re going national next year. Wanna be campaign manager?

  15. Hi Nick,

    per your comment on my blog. I don’t know that you need to try harder. You seem a great guy, just be yourself. 🙂
    Your posts/comments both challenge and cheer me up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

