Action for autism

As a parent of a downie, I get to take a lot of state and social assistance for granted. Within reason, of course, but I’m very thankful for it. To a significant degree, it allows us in Downsyndromeland to get on with managing and providing for the special needs of our affected family members. It wasn’t always that way, and I’m acutely conscious of the efforts of a generation of parents before us who hacked a clearing for us.

To my uneducated eye, it seems that the current generation of parents of autistic kids are engaged right now in that titanic struggle.

I hope this post can help to drum up some support for them. If you can take moment to visit O2’s website here it will tell you about their initiative with Irish Autism Action to raise the (inevitably named) much needed funds. This from O2:

October sees the launch of a new initiative by O2, in partnership with Irish Autism Action. It is called the Irish Autism Action Affinity. This offer is open to both prepay and post-pay O2 customers and the message is simple – Text the key word ‘AUTISM’ to 50308 and 5% of your O2 monthly spend will go towards autism services in your community.

Ok, you got that? If you’re an O2 customer, text AUTISM to 50308 and O2 will donate 5% of your monthly spend to autism facilities. That’s money that you’ll be spending anyway. And if you have no connection with anyone with autism, you might end up never having a clue as to the extent of the wonderful a thing you’ve done.

But I’m telling you now.

It’ll be a wonderful thing.

Unfortunately my esteemed readers outside of the Republic of Ireland won’t be able to take part. We’ll get Hammie to get to work on that. I believe world dominion is part of her plan for November. I know too that I have one or two readers who fall outside the special needs carers category. Guys, your help would be appreciated by some seriously overstretched people.

God bless.

15 comments on “Action for autism

  1. hammie says:

    What an excellent post! I agree heartily with you and thankyou for the doorbuster sentiments. I might actually give you my latest blog award now.
    Cheers and thanks.
    xx

  2. enc says:

    I’m glad that 02 is doing something. Maybe they’ll set a trend.

  3. If there’s a way, I’m more than happy to be in.

  4. downsdad says:

    Hammie – if the award comes with cash winnings then I’ll be delighted to be honoured!

    Nice one Xb. Post the link and the IAA jpeg and let your esteemed readers know.

    enc – it’s heartening to see the big guys getting involved, yes indeed.

  5. Elbog says:

    As the blond surfer dudes out here say,”Kewl!”

  6. hammie says:

    No cash just kudos and the chance to show off in front of the other sploggies. It’s there if you want it and you can download the picture and put it in your banner; or not.

  7. NAN P. says:

    I have been hit by Hammie on this too, and could not say no – anything that can be got for nothing is great, but when it’s from moneys we have already spend it’s even better! And you put it Oh So Well!

    By the way, check my blog… I am afraid you have also been hit in another way, man!

  8. Christine says:

    Wish I could so something to help, but being on the other side of the pond makes it hard. I do see how parents who have children with autism (people first language please!) struggle for services here in the US. With autism touching so many children around the world, we need to do all we can to help provide services, fund research, educate the educators to get these children the assistance they need. I have no doubt that your spreading the word will help make a difference.

  9. (Hands over head, hiding….)
    You’ve been tagged, in a good way!!! Collect your award at my blog and feel the love 🙂

  10. Sesame says:

    Hey Nick any chance you could pop over for a minit?

  11. Tatty Franey says:

    Hi Nick, thanks for the visit and what an amazing blog! I did text O2 and I’m glad I can help somehow.
    Take care

  12. Sharon says:

    Not wanting to a contrarian, and happy that IAA will increase the funds, I take issue with some aspects of this, as explained in more detail than anyone ever would like to know here.

    Also, Christine, all the autistic adults I know dislike person first language about themselves, as explained here and I’ll take my lead from them. They see their autism as a pervasive part of themselves, even if it isn’t the whole or most important component. I’m a married, white, Irish woman, none of which dictate everything about me. I wouldn’t say I’m a a person with femaleness, Irishness, whiteness living in a state of marriedness! I reckon people can use whatever feels right to them.

    There isn’t (I think) an equivalent adjective for various other disabilities, like Down syndrome or cerebral palsy.

  13. WendyB says:

    I’ve never heard/read “downie” before.

  14. Nick McGivney says:

    Sharon – ‘Not wanting to be contrarian’ lol! (Sorry and all, but lol!)

    WendyB – I don’t think I’ve used it before.

    Sharon, Chris and WendyB – I used to get drained wondering what the correct appellations were. I’ve ended up chucking the lot of them, and using whatever comes into my mind first. Unless it’s obviously cruel or remains as a one-dimensional encapsulation, one word’s as good as another. The freest and easiest bloggers (to my eye anyway) don’t seem to get tied up in the rigging of the labels – ANY labels. I don’t think of Jacob as one dimensional. I’ve changed too many rear ends. Downie, downsie, Down syndrome baby, baby with Down syndrome, Down syndrome sufferer, handicapped child… who actually knows what’s right? He’s just my baby.

  15. hammie says:

    Thanks to all of you for getting behind this. More than ever the groups around the country are going to need readies to pay for therapy that is not coming from the state, anytime soon!

    As for the typography? I feel happy identifying myself as an Autie. My kids can make their own choices.
    I come from a mneumonically lazy country which shortens every word and puts eee on the end of it, so it is in my comfort zone.

    Byeeeee!
    xx

Leave a Reply

